How to Install Incompatible Android Apps from Google Play

July 2, 2012 at 2:45 PM | Posted in Android | 18 Comments
Tags: , ,

image

Some Android apps on Google Play claim to be incompatible with various devices. There’s a good chance that these apps will run fine on many of these devices – you can bypass this check with root access.

Some apps won’t actually work after you install them, but many will. This also solves problems with games that will install but refuse to play – for example, Gameloft games with the “this device is incompatible” message.

Setup

To perform this hack, you’ll need to root your Android smartphone or tablet. After you do, you should install ES File Explorer from Google Play.

Editing Build.prop

The build.prop file contains a few strings (bits of text) that identify your device model. If you edit this file, Google Play and other apps will think you’re using a different device than you actually are. Be very careful when editing this file – we’ll just be editing a few tiny parts of it. If you edit other parts, you could cause serious problems with your device.

First, launch the ES File Explorer app. Open its Settings screen and enable the Root Explorer and Mount File System options. You may also want to enable the Up to Root option on this screen, so you can easily tap the Up button and navigate to your root directory.

Navigate to the /system/ directory on your device and locate the build.prop file.

You should create a copy of the original build.prop file elsewhere – long-press on it, select Copy, and then Paste it into another folder – say, your /sdcard/ folder.

Now you’re ready to edit the file. Long-press it, select Open As, select Text, and select the ES Note Editor app.

Look for the ro.product.model and ro.product.manufacturer lines. These are the important ones.

Change these lines to pretend your device is another model. For example, to imitate a Nexus S, use these lines:

  • ro.product.model = Nexus S
  • ro.product.manufacturer = samsung

After making this change, tap the menu button and select Save.

Final Steps

Go into the Settings screen, select Applications, select Manage Applications, tap the All category, and select the Google Play app. Clear its cache and data, and then restart your device

Open Google Play and you should be able to download apps that claim they’re not compatible with your device. Games that detect your device should also work, too – Gameloft games seem to be particularly guilty of this. Some apps may still not install or work with your device for other reasons — for example, Google Chrome won’t work on pre-Android 4.0 devices, and some apps may be restricted to certain countries.

18 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi there, I discovered your site by the use of Google at the same time as looking for a related matter, your site came up, it seems good. I have added to my favourites|added to bookmarks.

  2. Hello, just wanted to say, I loved this post. It was inspiring.

    Keep on posting!

  3. Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware
    of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people consider worries that they plainly
    do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people can take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  4. I must thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this blog. I’m hoping to check out the same high-grade content by you later on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own website now ;)

  5. Great article. I am dealing with many of these issues as well.
    .

  6. Hello! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers?

    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing
    many months of hard work due to no data backup. Do you have any solutions to prevent hackers?

  7. I know this web site gives quality depending articles
    and other information, is there any other site which provides such information in quality?

  8. I have been browsing online greater than 3 hours
    nowadays, but I by no means found any interesting article like yours.
    It is lovely value sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made just right content
    as you probably did, the net shall be a lot more helpful than ever before.

  9. It’s very simple to find out any matter on net as compared to books, as I found this paragraph at this site.

  10. Why visitors still use to read news papers when in this technological
    world the whole thing is available on net?

  11. It’s awesome in favor of me to have a web site, which is useful designed for my know-how. thanks admin

  12. My partner and I stumbled over here different web address and thought
    I should check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to exploring your web page yet again.

  13. Thanks in support of sharing such a fastidious
    opinion, piece of writing is nice, thats why i have read it
    completely

  14. captcha bypass…

    How to Install Incompatible Android Apps from Google Play « Technonaga…

  15. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this excellent blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  16. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite reason seemed
    to be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people consider worries that they
    just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail
    upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take
    a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  17. Everyone loves it when individuals come together and share opinions.
    Great website, continue the good work!

  18. Thank you for some other informative web site. Where else could I am getting that kind of info written in such an ideal method?
    I have a challenge that I am just now operating on, and I’ve been on the glance out for such info.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

