Unload Tabs Inactive for Long Time in Chrome to Free Memory

August 17, 2012 at 10:04 PM | Posted in Browser Features | 63 Comments
Tags: ,

When I asked my friends about their choice of the Browser then it were the Firefox and Chrome that stood before the other browsers. Clearly these two browsers are the most used browsers today. While people use Firefox for its add-on repository, Chrome is used majorly because of it plain and minimalistic interface which is loved by many people.

I liked Firefox earlier a lot but now I have been majorly using Chrome but in both these browsers I have hated the CPU and memory consumption that these browsers use. Also for someone like me who works with most tabs open, the browsers tend to consume lots of computer resources. I know several people who even don’t close the tab after they have finished working upon. This needlessly increases the memory utilization which could have been avoided.

Here is a chrome extension called TabMemFree which can unload the inactive for you after the specified time of inactivity. This is extremely helpful for someone who has a tab still opened even after the completion of work as this would help them in saving the computer resources and memory.

You just need to install the extension, visit the settings and set the Timeout and Check period as per your needs and this will check the inactivity of the tab after the set time and unload the tab automatically. It will however don’t change the tab title and icon, for if you need to come back on it the page will reload instantly.

TabMemFree saves lot of computer memory as it will automatically unload the tab for you after the specified time of inactivity have passed. Say if you set the Check period as 10 mins and Timeout period as 15 mins, then it will check the tabs every 10 mins and unload those tabs which are inactive for more than 15 mins.

You can visit the location below to install it in your Chrome browser.

Install TabMemFree

63 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. wow this is amazing truly helpful this web page is the very best site if your looking for somthing like picsart

  2. quite remarkable do the job

  3. I would like to show my appreciation for your generosity for all those that really want help with this important subject. Your real dedication to passing the message all through turned out to be amazingly practical and have all the time helped many people just like me to attain their endeavors. This informative guide indicates a great deal a person like me and extremely more to my fellow workers. Thanks a lot; from all of us.

  4. I have to voice my passion for your kind-heartedness in support of people that absolutely need assistance with this one content. Your personal commitment to getting the message along ended up being exceedingly significant and has constantly enabled associates like me to arrive at their ambitions. Your own warm and helpful tutorial can mean this much a person like me and extremely more to my mates. Many thanks; from all of us.

  5. I just wanted to type a quick remark in order to appreciate you for all the fabulous advice you are placing on this site. My long internet search has at the end of the day been compensated with sensible tips to exchange with my good friends. I ‘d repeat that we readers actually are really fortunate to dwell in a decent network with very many perfect individuals with interesting points. I feel really grateful to have encountered your web page and look forward to so many more pleasurable minutes reading here. Thanks a lot again for everything.

  6. I gotta bookmark this site it seems handy handy.

  7. There is visibly a bundle to realize about this. I suppose you made certain nice points in features also.

  8. Only wanna tell that this is very helpful, Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  9. As I website possessor I think the articles here is really wonderful, appreciate it for your efforts.

  10. Some really interesting information, well written and loosely user genial.

  11. I have read several excellent stuff here. Definitely price bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how a lot attempt you place to make one of these excellent informative web site.

  12. F*ckin’ tremendous issues here. I’m very satisfied to peer your article. Thank you a lot and i’m looking forward to contact you. Will you please drop me a mail?

  13. I have recently started a site, the information you offer on this website has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  14. You made some clear points there. I did a search on the topic and found most guys will agree with your blog.

  15. I wanted to check up and allow you to know how considerably I cherished discovering this blog today. I’d consider it a honor to operate at my place of work and be able to make use of the tips shared on your blog and also get involved in visitors’ remarks like this. Should a position of guest author become available at your end, i highly recommend you let me know.

  16. I do believe all of the concepts you have presented to your post. They are really convincing and can definitely work. Nonetheless, the posts are too quick for starters. Could you please lengthen them a little from next time? Thank you for the post.

  17. I am delighted that I observed this web site, precisely the right information that I was searching for!

  18. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in truth used to be a enjoyment account it. Look advanced to more introduced agreeable from you! By the way, how could we communicate?

  19. I like your writing style really loving this site.

  20. You made some clear points there. I looked on the internet for the subject and found most individuals will agree with your website.

  21. We’re a bunch of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your web site offered us with helpful info to paintings on. You’ve done a formidable activity and our entire group will likely be thankful to you.

  22. I conceive this web site contains some very good info for everyone :D.

  23. Very interesting points you have observed, regards for putting up.

  24. I do believe all the concepts you have introduced for your post. They’re very convincing and will definitely work. Nonetheless, the posts are too brief for newbies. Could you please prolong them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post.

  25. I’m extremely inspired with your writing skills and also with the format on your blog. Is this a paid subject or did you customize it yourself? Anyway stay up the nice high quality writing, it’s uncommon to see a nice blog like this one today.

  26. Hi my family member! I wish to say that this post is awesome, great written and include approximately all important infos. I would like to see more posts like this.

  27. Woh I like your articles, saved to my bookmarks!

  28. Great blog right here! Additionally your web site lots up very fast! What host are you the use of? Can I get your affiliate hyperlink to your host? I wish my website loaded up as fast as yours lol.

  29. Lovely just what I was looking for. Thanks to the author for taking his clock time on this one.

  30. Whoah this blog is fantastic i love reading your posts. Stay up the good work! You recognize, lots of persons are looking around for this information, you can aid them greatly.

  31. Whoah this weblog is magnificent i really like studying your articles. Stay up the great paintings! You already know, a lot of individuals are looking round for this info, you could aid them greatly.

  32. Whoah this blog is great i really like studying your posts. Stay up the great work! You understand, lots of persons are hunting around for this info, you can aid them greatly.

  33. I’m in! ! ! I have been looking for a way to add spark again to my teaching. I truly adore my job but worry that the students I teach not being “techy enough” when they leave me just about every summer. I wonder if I did enough to help them be successful in their futures. So, I’m in and that i glance forward to an awesome journey.

  34. Dentistas Barcelona…

    This is the best article on this topic I’ve seen. Readers can identify with your views and learn something from your knowledge of this subject….

  35. Thanks a lot for being my personal coach on this subject. My partner and i enjoyed your article greatly and most of all cherished the way in which you handled the areas I considered to be controversial. You are always very kind to readers like me and aid me in my living. Thank you.

  36. I’ve learn several excellent stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how so much effort you set to create such a great informative web site.

  37. Hello. excellent job. I did not imagine this. This is a great story. Thanks!

  38. I precisely wanted to thank you very much once again. I’m not certain the things that I would’ve worked on in the absence of these thoughts shown by you over this subject. Previously it was an absolute horrifying crisis in my position, nevertheless being able to see this skilled form you handled the issue took me to leap over joy. I’m just thankful for this help and wish you realize what an amazing job your are doing teaching people today with the aid of your web site. Most likely you haven’t got to know all of us.

  39. Thanks a lot for providing individuals with an extremely breathtaking chance to read articles and blog posts from this blog. It really is very awesome and jam-packed with a lot of fun for me personally and my office fellow workers to search your website minimum three times in a week to read through the new items you have got. And indeed, I’m just actually astounded with the stunning thoughts you give. Certain 2 facts in this posting are absolutely the most effective I have had.

  40. I have to express my gratitude for your kind-heartedness giving support to all those that must have help with the area. Your special dedication to getting the message all through had been rather invaluable and have permitted guys like me to arrive at their endeavors. Your amazing useful help entails so much to me and much more to my office colleagues. Best wishes; from all of us.

  41. I as well as my pals happened to be digesting the best ideas on your site while the sudden got a terrible feeling I had not thanked the site owner for those techniques. My women were definitely totally passionate to study all of them and have in effect extremely been taking advantage of those things. Thank you for truly being very helpful and also for using this form of very good issues millions of individuals are really desperate to be aware of. Our own honest apologies for not expressing appreciation to you earlier.

  42. Now thats an amazing post…Thanks! 😀

  43. What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It positively useful and it has helped me out loads. I am hoping to give a contribution & help different customers like its aided me. Great job.

  44. I got what you mean,saved to my bookmarks, very nice web site.

  45. Awsome website! I am loving it!! Will come back again. I am taking your feeds also

  46. Thank you for your whole effort on this web site. My niece enjoys setting aside time for investigations and it is simple to grasp why. Most people know all concerning the powerful medium you provide informative suggestions by means of this website and as well as recommend contribution from website visitors on this subject so our own princess is really learning a great deal. Take advantage of the remaining portion of the new year. You are performing a stunning job.

  47. I simply wanted to compose a word in order to say thanks to you for the unique items you are showing on this site. My time-consuming internet investigation has at the end of the day been compensated with awesome details to exchange with my contacts. I would repeat that we visitors are truly lucky to be in a fine community with many awesome individuals with helpful points. I feel somewhat blessed to have come across your website and look forward to tons of more brilliant times reading here. Thank you once more for a lot of things.

  48. My spouse and i got really glad when Chris managed to finish up his research via the ideas he had from your web pages. It’s not at all simplistic just to find yourself making a gift of ideas which some other people have been selling. And we also realize we need the website owner to give thanks to for that. Those illustrations you have made, the simple site menu, the friendships you will make it easier to instill – it’s everything astonishing, and it’s helping our son in addition to our family reason why that topic is interesting, which is seriously serious. Thanks for the whole thing!

  49. I enjoy you because of all your work on this web page. Gloria takes pleasure in participating in research and it’s easy to see why. Most of us know all of the lively means you deliver both interesting and useful guides via this website and inspire response from other ones on the situation plus our own daughter is now learning a lot. Take advantage of the remaining portion of the new year. You have been doing a glorious job.

  50. I as well as my guys have been reading the nice thoughts found on your site while instantly I had a horrible feeling I never thanked the web site owner for those tips. My people had been as a result very interested to learn them and have now honestly been having fun with them. I appreciate you for actually being quite thoughtful as well as for pick out varieties of cool useful guides millions of individuals are really desperate to know about. Our own sincere apologies for not saying thanks to sooner.

  51. I intended to draft you this very little word to be able to give many thanks again about the fantastic pointers you’ve provided in this case. This is so tremendously open-handed with people like you giving openly what most people could have advertised as an e-book to help make some money for their own end, even more so now that you might well have done it if you desired. Those advice additionally worked to become fantastic way to realize that other individuals have similar eagerness similar to mine to grasp more and more concerning this condition. I’m sure there are several more pleasurable instances in the future for people who go through your site.

  52. I am glad to be a visitant of this complete blog, thanks for this rare information!

  53. I and my friends came following the excellent pointers from the blog and then unexpectedly I got an awful feeling I never expressed respect to the website owner for those secrets. Most of the guys happened to be absolutely glad to read all of them and have extremely been taking advantage of those things. We appreciate you simply being considerably thoughtful and then for choosing some useful issues millions of individuals are really eager to be informed on. My very own sincere apologies for not saying thanks to earlier.

  54. Thanks a ton for being my personal teacher on this issue. My spouse and i enjoyed your own article quite definitely and most of all preferred the way you handled the issues I regarded as controversial. You happen to be always really kind to readers really like me and help me in my lifestyle. Thank you.

  55. Woh I enjoy your content, saved to my bookmarks!

  56. I enjoy you because of all of your hard work on this site. Gloria delights in conducting research and it is easy to understand why. A number of us learn all regarding the lively method you convey vital things through the web site and therefore attract participation from people on this article then my girl is certainly discovering a lot of things. Take advantage of the remaining portion of the new year. You have been performing a useful job.

  57. My wife and i have been now joyful when Albert managed to complete his survey through the ideas he got from your very own blog. It is now and again perplexing to simply be freely giving concepts which men and women could have been making money from. And we already know we have got the website owner to thank for that. The illustrations you made, the simple site navigation, the relationships you can make it possible to engender – it is mostly excellent, and it’s letting our son in addition to us consider that the concept is amusing, and that is rather indispensable. Many thanks for everything!

  58. many thanks for sharing source files. thanks

  59. Many thanks Jane, and there’s more to come.

  60. I and my pals appeared to be following the great ideas found on your site and so unexpectedly came up with a horrible feeling I had not thanked the web site owner for those secrets. All the women appeared to be so joyful to learn all of them and already have in fact been enjoying these things. Thanks for truly being considerably helpful as well as for deciding upon variety of superior subject areas most people are really desperate to be aware of. My personal honest regret for not expressing gratitude to you earlier.

  61. My wife and i were now thankful when Jordan could do his analysis because of the ideas he received from your very own web page. It’s not at all simplistic to just possibly be handing out guides that some others might have been trying to sell. We really understand we now have the blog owner to give thanks to for this. The explanations you have made, the straightforward website navigation, the relationships you help to promote – it’s mostly great, and it’s helping our son in addition to us imagine that that subject is brilliant, and that’s wonderfully serious. Thanks for everything!

  62. I simply had to say thanks yet again. I do not know the things I would have tried without the type of advice revealed by you concerning such a situation. It was before an absolute troublesome scenario in my circumstances, but encountering the expert technique you solved the issue took me to weep over fulfillment. I am just grateful for the guidance as well as believe you are aware of an amazing job that you’re getting into instructing men and women by way of your websites. I am certain you’ve never encountered all of us.

  63. This is a lovely post. Thanks for that a lot 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

